Search the site >

Aodh Ruadh beat Termon to book place in county final

Under 13 Championship
15 November 2008
Aodh Ruadh 4-17
Termon 6-6

The under 13s needed to call on all their reserves of guts and skill to overcome a determined Termon outfit in the county semi-final at Tir Chonaill park last Saturday.

Ballyshannon got off to an awful start as Termon raced into a nine point lead early in the first half. Nevertheless Aodh Ruadh held their nerve and pulled back to within a point of the north Donegal outfit by the break with the scores at 2-8 to 4-3. The fight back was primarily attributable to the driving runs and scoring of Pauric Patton which hauled Aodh Ruadh back into the game. David McGurrin and Jamie McDonald were also instrumental in keeping Ballyshannon in touch with their economical shooting.

Michael McNeely played some great football throughout the match and his terrier like tackling did much to disrupt Termon's attacking momentum. Johnny Gethins also excelled when he was pulled from his usual half forward berth to half back. Eamon McGrath played with considerable confidence and showed great relish as the game entered its decisive last ten minutes. Paddy Gillespie was unstinting and energetic throughout and gave a great performance in a game where the back line faced many periods of sustained Termon pressure.

That pressure was greatest as the game entered its closing stages, but Aodh Ruadh were the side that was able to work the closing scores to win the game on a scoreline of 4-17 to 6-6.

The final against Saint Eunan's takes place at 12.30pm on Sunday, 23rd November at Tir Chonaill park, Donegal town. It is the opening game in double header with the Division 4 league final which also features Aodh Ruadh and Saint Eunan's.

The Aodh Ruadh team which defeated Termon in the under 13 county semi-final.
The Aodh Ruadh team which defeated Termon in the under 13 county semi-final.

Vital Statistics
Aodh Ruadh
Conor Gilmartin; Matthew Maguire, Eamon McGrath, Paddy Gillespie; Matthew Gettins, Darren Gethins, Michael McNeely; Niall Harley, James Kelly (0-1); Johnny Gethins (0-2), Colm Kelly (0-1), Patrick Dixon; Jamie McDonald (1-2), David McGurrin (1-7), Pauric Patton (2-4).
Keelan Doherty; Joe McCosker, Kevin Murray, Killian McConaghey; Alan Dugra, Keelan Mellett, Damian Kearns; Aidan Sweeney (1-2), Michael Kelly (1-0); Ricky Gallagher (1-0), Shane Callaghan (1-0), Fintan O'Flynn (0-1); Keelan McDaid (0-1), Dara McDaid (0-2), Joe Callaghan (2-0).
John McGlanaghey (Four Masters)

Report Filed: 24 November 2008