Search the site >

Saints clinch first Ballyshannon Shoe Company indoor winter league title

Under 8 football
16 October 2015

The final night of the under 8 Ballyshannon Shoe Company Indoor Winter League took place last Friday last with 38 under 8s battling it out in the new hall at Coláiste Cholmcille.

The second set of round robins saw the Saints finish top of the table with 17 points and facing the Gaels in the cup final after they finished on 13 points.

The Shield semi-final saw the Harps and the Shamrocks facing off after finishing on 10 points and six points respectively. The Slashers were into the Shield final automatically having finished on 12 points.

The Shield semi-final was a closely contested affair with the Harps clinching their place in the decider by just a goal, 3 to 2 the final score. The Harps then took on the Slashers in the Shield final and delivered a great performance to take the shield title. The winning Harps team was Alan Vaughan, Bobby Melly, Dáithí Sheerin, Dara McGloin, Liam Doogan, Sadhbh Hughes and Sean O'Neill.

The cup final saw the Gaels take an early lead, but a strong Saints team struck back well to take the victory. The winning Saints team was Cádhla Dolan, Dara Vaughan, Finn Doogan, Fionn Hartin, Garvey Meade, Stephen Doran and Ted O'Donnell.

Afterwards Bord na nÓg chairman David O'Donnell made medal presentations to all the players who took part over the two nights of the under 8 Ballyshannon Shoe Company Indoor Winter League. He praised the players for the great exhibition of football they put on, Sylvester Maguire for reffing, Mary Flora Scott, Shelly Loughlin, Dylan Gallagher, JC McGarrigle, Seamus Roper and Paul Gillespie for managing the teams, and the parents for all their support over the course of the year. He also thanked Ballyshannon Shoe Company for their generous sponsorhip of trophies and medals. The shield trophy was presented to the Harps captain Dara McGloin, while captain Garvey Meade lifted the cup on behalf of the overall league winners, the Saints.

Last modified: Monday, 1 June 2020 at 1:15pm