Search the site >

Under 14s retain Fermanagh league crown

Under 14 hurling
4 July 2011
Aodh Ruadh 4-8
Lisbellaw 1-8

Goals were the difference at the end of this game as Ballyshannon chalked up three more than the home side to retain the Fermanagh under 14 league trophy.

With a Ballyshannon early first point from play by their left half forward Ciaran Kelly the south Donegal side established a lead that they only momentarily relinquished with Lisbellaw's captain and mid-fielder Stephen Breen bringing the game level when he popped over his side's opening point from play.

That was the last St Patrick's score for more than ten minutes however with Oisin Rooney scoring a free before Cian Duffy blasted home his side's first goal to the back of the Lisbellaw net.

Though Lisbellaw's full forward Conor Goodwin fired his side's second point Rooney grabbed another point to keep the score board ticking over for Aodh Ruadh's.

With this game now entering its second quarter Ballyshannon's centre back Donal Sweeny firmly grabbed this match by the scruff of its neck and banged home Ballyshannon's second goal after a driving run forward.

Though there was still over five minutes to the game's interval had carved out a seven point advantage.

Lisbellaw's mid-fielder Eoin Cleary pucked over two morale boosting points prior to the game's interval to leave just five between the teams but disaster struck as Ballyshannon struck for another goal just before the break.

Lisbellaw started the second half well and had points from Eoin Cleary and Conor Goodwin to cut the deficit to six and things got even better when centre half back Jack Gavin and and right half back Paul McElroy added a point a piece from play.

However Aodh Ruadh's Rooney was in accurate form and he banged over four points to undo most of the good work from the home side.

Aaron Kinney fired home a brilliant goal for Lisbellaw to give them some hope of a spectacular comeback but it was Ballyshannon who hit the crucial next score with Adam Brennan finding the net for his sides fourth goal.

Vital Statistics
Aodh Ruadh
Brendan Gillespie; Caolan Drummond, Conor Kennedy, Patrick Haran; Bryan Ward, Eugene Drummond, Jason Granaghan; Oisin Rooney (0-7), Deva Ayres; Garret Sheerin, Donal Sweeney (1-0), Ciaran Kelly (0-1); Shane McGrath, Cian Duffy (2-0) and Adam Brennan (1-0).
Substitutes: Rossa McCosker, Stephen Anderson, Barry Kelly, Ryan Ayres, Brian McHenry, Darragh Cleary and Paul Cummins.
Manager: Johnny Rooney.
Aaron Magee; Dylan Bannon, Dara McGurn, Cormac Thompson; Paul McElroy (0-1), Jack Gavin (0-1), Ronan Markey; Stephen Breen (0-1), Eoin Cleary (0-4); Aaron Kinney (1-0), Oliver Harte, Chris McCann; Barry McPhillips Conor Goodwin (0-1) and Ciaran Rafferty.
Substitutes: Caolan Duffy, Ciaran Duffy, Daniel McElavaney, Adam McShea, Sean Porteous and Sean Corrigan.
Managers: Seamus McCusker and Dermott Cleary.
Referee: Mark Curry (Lisnaskea Emmett's)

Report kind courtesy Fermanagh Herald.

Last modified: Thursday, 29 November 2018 at 2:40pm