Search the site >

Aodh Ruadh host fourth annual Peter O'Keefe inter-county hurling tournament

The fourth annual Peter O'Keefe took place in Ballyshannon on Saturday last. This year's tournament was organised by Ulster GAA assisted by Aodh Ruadh Juvenile Hurling Committee and without doubt it was the best tournament yet and a fitting tribute to the late Peter. Seven teams took part in Saturday's competition Sligo (holders), Mayo, Roscommon, Derry, Tyrone, Donegal and South Ulster - a combination team from Cavan, Monaghan and Fermanagh. Donegal played South Ulster in their opening game and had a convincing win, they lost their second game to a very physical Roscommon team. They played their best hurling of the day in their third game against Sligo they turned over a four point deficit at half time to run out convincing winners. The host county topped their group due to their superior scoring difference. That set up a final against a very impressive Derry team. Donegal matched Derry in the early exchanges before the fresher Derry team, who only played two group games, ran out convincing winners. There was some great hurling played throughout the day. After the hurling Peadar O'Keefe presented the Peter O'Keefe cup to the winning Derry captain. The tournament is now firmly established on the Ulster hurling calendar. The Ulster GAA Hurling Committee has plans to make it a bigger tournament in 2015. Aodh Ruadh were represented on the Donegal team by Oisín Rooney (captain) Brendan Gillespie and Kieran Daly with all three lads playing very well.

Last modified: Tuesday, 26 May 2020 at 5:30pm