Search the site >

Aodh Ruadh stage annual awards night

Aodh Ruadh hosted their annual awards night a stone's throw away from Father Tierney Park, in the Rock Hall. There was a good turnout as the club gathered to mark team and individual achievement on the field of play across 2015.

Sean Perry was Master of Ceremonies and got the night going with recognition of our silverware winning county stars.

First up was a presentation Sarah Patton who was a member of the 2015 Ulster Ladies senior championship winning team. She was followed by the Aodh Ruadh members of the 2015 Under 21 All-Ireland C Hurling championship winning team; Oisin Rooney, Rory Cullen, Eddie Lynch, Ciaran Rami and Conor McNeely.

We moved on to club awards after that and pride of place was taken by the 2015 Southern Minor League champions. It was double joy for Philip Patton who also picked up the Minor footballer of the year award.

The individual awards continued after that with Shelly Loughlin named Ladies player of the year, Oisin Rooney selected as Minor hurler of the year, Under 21 hurler of the year going to Conor McNeely, Ciaran Rami picking up Young hurler of the year and Stephen Sheerin scooping the prestigious Hurler of the year award.

After that proceedings moved on to the football awards. The Under 21 footballer of the year award went the way of Eamonn McGrath, while Reserve team player of the year was picked up by Anthony Coughlin. The Young footballer of the year award went to rising star Calum O'Halloran, meanwhile the The Ciaran Keon senior player of the year was presented Diarmaid McInerney after a season of heavy scoring and impressive performances.

The Sean Slevin club person of the year was awarded to David McLoone in recognition of a diligent year in the service of the club in various different guises.

The night concluded with tokens of appreciation being presented to the outgoing chairman and secretary, Diarmaid Keon and Emma Gaughan. There were also presentations to the outgoing senior management of Packie McGrath, Val Murray, Sean O'Mahoney, Damian Conlon and Jim Kane.

That drew the curtain on a great night and a year the club will remember with many fond memories.

Last modified: Thursday, 21 May 2020 at 8:09pm