Search the site >

Celebrating a year to remember with a night to remember at the Aodh Ruadh Dinner Dance

There was a fine crowd in attendance for the Aodh Ruadh Annual Dinner Dance staged in Dorrian's Imperial Hotel last Saturday night, with Sean Perry, once again taking the tiller for evening. Proceedings got underway with the presentations to the the back-to-back 2016 All-Ireland under 21 C Hurling Championship Andrew O'Neill Cup winners. Kevin Loughlin was in the management while Aodh Ruadh's Matt Ahern, Tommy Gillespie, Eddie Lynch, Stephen Connolly, Ciaran Rami and Oisin Rooney were all members of the panel as Donegal crushed Fermanagh 3-7 to 1-2 in the final.

That was followed by the presentation to the 2016 Aodh Ruadh members of the Ulster Minor Hurling League winning panel, Conal Sweeny, Stephen Anderson and Brian McHenry.

Next up was a presentation to the club's 2016 Ulster Minor League and Championship double winners Shane McGrath, Nathan Boyle and Oisin Rooney.

Two All-county league winning sides were then presented with their medals. First up were the men's League Division 3 winners and they were followed by the Ladies Division 2 champions.

The evening then moved on to the individual awards section. Young ladies player of the year was Mary Flora Scott while Tara Khan scooped the Ladies player of the year award.

The Young hurler of the year went to Stephen Anderson, with Ciaran Kilgannon collecting the Hurler of the year.

The first of the football awards went to Eamonn McGrath who was named Under 21 footballer of the year. One of the highlights of the night was Christoper Goan receiving the Reserve team player of the year award. The Ciaran Keon senior player of the year went the Michael Ward, the young Michael Ward that is, with Sean Perry reassuring Sticky Ward that his day might still come.

The Sean Slevin club person of the year caught Chris Kelly well off guard, but it was richly deserved for a great deal of selfless work on behalf of the club.

Inducted into the Aodh Ruadh Hall of Fame on the night was John Travers. A tireless servant of the club, his contribution to Aodh Ruadh over the past decades has been immeasureable. After receiving the award John made a short address, thanking the club for the accolade and the great times he had enjoyed. However he added that the club had great times still to come and he wished all the best as we worked our way back to those heights. John's wife Maureen also received a bouquet and there was a large gathering present to support and congratulate him on a memorable night for him and his family.

With the evening drawing to a close tokens of appreciation were presented to Terence McShea and Mick McGrath for their contribution to Donegal GAA, to outgoing Ladies Chairman Eoin O'Moore and to out-going senior football manager Peter Gallagher. Peter along with James O'Donnell also received tokens of appreciation from the senior football team for their work over the course of our promotion season.

With the night's cermonials complete it was time for Inside Out to take the stage and supply the music as Aodh Ruadh continued to mark the year past in appropriate style.

Last modified: Thursday, 21 May 2020 at 8:27pm