Search the site >

Naomh Conall defeat Aodh Ruadh to stretch unbeaten run

Senior Football Division 1A
21 July 2007
Naomh Conaill 2-08
Aodh Ruadh 1-06
Sean Perry reports from Davy Brennan Park.

Naomh Conaill remain unbeaten in Division 1A after a deserving victory against Aodh Ruadh, played in perfect conditions in Davy Brennan Memorial Park Glenties on Saturday evening.

Martin Gallagher got the opening point of the game for the visitors in the third minute, however Naomh Conaill replied immediately with a goal from Leo McLoone just a minute later after good work from Dara Gallagher.

Kerry Ryan split the posts on eight minutes but after this the home team took control and by the 15th minute they led 2-03 to 0-02 with Johnny McLoone knocking over two points and Dara Gallagher scoring 1-1.

Naomh Conaill were completely on top for the rest of the half but they were unable to turn all their authority into scores with some very wasteful play and shooting and the Ballyshannon men finished the half stronger with Pauric Buggy scoring 1-1 in the last two minutes of the half.

A Seamus Corcoran point was sandwiched in between Buggy's scores to leave Naomh Conaill leading 2-4 to 1-3 at the break. The second half was a very dull affair with both teams guilty of some poor play. Leo McLoone stretched the home teams lead on 38 with a point, but two pointed frees from Pauric Buggy on 46 and 48 kept Aodh Ruadh in the game.

Points from Conal McNelis and Dara Gallagher on 51 and 52 gave the home team some breathing space and ended the game as a contest. Anthony Thompson from a free and Diarmuid McInerney exchanged points in the closing minutes and Naomh Conaill finished the game deserving winners by five points.

Vital Statistics
Naomh Conaill
Stephen McGrath; Stephen Molloy, Johnny Bonner, Dominic Bonner; John Timoney, Thomas Donoughue, Eoin Wade; Jim McGuinness, Anthony Thompson (0-1, 1f); Brendan McDyre, Johnny McLoone (0-2), Seamus Corcoran (0-1); Conal McNelis (0-1), Leo McLoone (1-1), Dara Gallagher (1-2).
Subsitutes used
Leonard McDyre, Martin Regan.
Aodh Ruadh
Buddy Greene; Brian McCafferty, Eamon O'Donnell, Ciron Whoriskey; Thomas McPhelim, Packie McGrath, Philip O'Reilly; Stephen Ward, Kerry Ryan (0-1); Donagh McIntyre, Brian Roper, Pauric Buggy (1-3, 3f); Diarmuid McInerney (0-1), Martin Gallagher (0-1), Matthew Thompson.
Subsitutes used
John Duffy, David Dolan.
Robbie O'Donnell (Naomh Mhuire)

Report Filed: 23 July 2007