Search the site >

Aodh Ruadh blow a Gael

Under 21 football championship
12 August 2014
Aodh Ruadh 1-14
Letterkenny Gaels 1-6
Father Tierney Park

After securing the under 21 B title last year Aodh Ruadh made an impressive return to the a grade with a convincing 1-14 to 1-6 win over Letterkenny Gaels in Father Tierney Park last Tuesday evening. The homesters faced into a tight wind in the first half and made the most of their opportunities to go in leading by 1-6 to 1-2 at the break. Niall Murray was the man with the goal, a reaction volley from the edge of the area. Aodh Ruadh capitalised on the wind at the start of the second half, playing some smart football to run up seven unanswered points and definitely take the game from the Letterkenny lads' grasp. It was a win built on a fine defensive display with Colm Kelly impressing at full back and Eamonn McGrath and Pauric Patton not far behind. Up front David McGurrin and Ronan McGurrin were the cutting edge, accounting for eight points between them, with Jamie McDonald and Ryan Granaghan also causing considerable problems for the visitors.

Vital Statistics
Aodh Ruadh
Daniel Kelly; Ryan Patton, Colm Kelly (0-1), Eugene Drummond; Kieran Keown, Eamonn McGrath, Pauric Patton (0-1); Conor Patton, Niall Harley; Eddie Lynch, Ronan McGurrin (0-2), Niall Murray (1-0); Ryan Granaghan (0-2), Jamie McDonald (0-2), David McGurrin (0-6, 0-2f)
Substitutes: Cookie O'Halloran for Kieran Keown; Michael McNeeley for Niall Harley; Jason Gallagher for Niall Murray; Philip Patton for Colm Kelly.
Referee: Ian Molloy (Naomh Conaill)

Last modified: Thursday, 28 May 2020 at 10:46pm